Known & Knower

December 14, 2013

(1 month, 16 days later)

John 10:3,14

“The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep recognize His voice and come to Him. He calls His own sheep by name and leads them out. …I am the good shepherd; I know my own sheep, and they know me.”

I can trust in this. I am known by God. I am deeply, intimately known by God. He calls my name and romances me. It also says I know God. That sounds just as much of a promise as being known. Wow! I will always have more seeking and knowing to do, but I am known and am a knower.

…Yep, I finally decided to journal about sin.

If I am a sinner what does that mean for me? It means that I am weak and unworthy. How do I think others would perceive me? I wouldn’t be loveable and most of all likeable. If I didn’t prove myself I would be out casted because I would be annoying. I realize that I do see others as sinners and some of them I do deem as annoying. I am so sickly arrogant. I disgust myself. Yet I look at other people that I know are sinners and still love them. They’re not performing for me. They’re loving on me and freely do so. God, I want to find the freedom in the identity you have given me, but I also need you to help me see more of my sin. Help me to stop pleasing You and just live with you.

Leave a comment